Wow, that’s a story for the ages.

I didn’t ask permission to tell this story, so I’ll be changing the major details.

An acquaintance is getting married, and it will be her husband’s second marriage. (For my religious followers, these are not church weddings– if that matters.) For the benefit of my Golden Girls fans, I’ll call them Dan and Morothy. Dan is a great guy, and he and Morothy have been together for a long time. I’m actually quite happy for them, especially knowing his first marriage (to a woman I’ll call Gloria, for the sake of continuity) and how it didn’t work out. To be perfectly honest, I wasn’t sure they were going to work out, but I wouldn’t have said that out loud. That’s when Morothy told us about the bottle.

When Dan got married the first time, to Gloria, the happy couple gave bottles of wine to every member of the wedding party. The day the divorce was finalized,  one of the groomsmen brought out… that same bottle. Apparently the day he got the bottle he announced to the others that he was going to save it for the day the divorce went through.

See now, I think someone should have sat that boy down to explain what it means to stand up for someone at a wedding. It’s more than an opportunity to wear a suit or a pretty dress and go to a party with an open bar. Whether a church wedding or not, your purpose is to affirm to the world that you believe in this union. It’s one thing to attend the wedding wallowing in cynicism, but a very different thing to be a part of the wedding party.

Sufficed to say, the groomsman will not be part of Dan and Morothy’s special day.

But I would like to say that I wish them all the happiness in the world.

Leave a Reply

