And now for something completely different…

One year ago yesterday, I started having contractions.  Right on time, if you ask me. The doctor said the due date was the 4th, but I was sure I wasn’t going to have to wait that long.  So when labor started, I was ready.
But when I checked into the hospital,  the doctor disagreed.  He started pumping me with saline, and he was almost right: the contractions slowed down. And then they picked right back up…. boy howdy, did they ever!
I was kind of on the fence about the epidural.  I’d had one for my first delivery, and it was awful. I felt everything,  and it was a general disappointment. But it had been four years since I’d had a baby, and I just didn’t want to face it without help. Thankfully, Mrs. Legal Lawyer had told me how her epidural had nearly been messed up,  so I knew how to make sure it was done right. And oh, it was glorious. I was even able to take a nap. Did I mention that I was in labor nearly all night? And that the hubs and my mom stuck around for the whole thing?
When it was time to push, the cord was wrapped around the baby’s neck, but it was a non-issue. Buttercup was born at 4:31 am. (None of my kids were born on a 5-minute mark…) She was amazing. And she has been amazing every day since.
Even more amazing was how great I felt; it was almost as though nothing had happened to me. You don’t have to take my word for it: my bestie came to visit that afternoon and said as much.  Confidence booster, if ever I heard one.
So happy birthday,  princess face. You made me more fully the mom I was meant to be. And I love you always.

image

Leave a Reply

