And the people all said “Sit down…

…Sit down, you’ll rock the vote.”

(See what I did there? Of course you did.)

You know how people rant and rave at people to go out to the polls and vote, preferably for the candidate they want? And they say, “If you don’t vote, you don’t get to complain!”?

Well… I guess I’m at the point where I vote just so I can complain.

I remember being in college when the Legal Lawyer and I were friends. He voted in the general Presidential election for an Uber-Conservative third-party type. Being young and highly selective in the issues I chose to stand for, and knowing the guy was not very popular anyway, I asked him if he heard the flushing noise when he pressed the “Cast Vote” button. I thought I was freaking hilarious at the time. (I considered this candidate anti-brown people, and as a brown person I have no love for the guy ever.)

But since that time, I started paying increasing attention to the political atmosphere in America. I won’t bore you with my political philosophy, but sufficed to say that it’s really hard to find a candidate who really matches up with the aforementioned philosophy. That and every year the system seems to have more glaringly obvious flaws. It’s no wonder the slogan has become “Vote or don’t Complain!!”, since that’s all anyone can do anymore. 

Here… I’ll let this guy explain it for me. If you don’t want to watch the whole thing, start at about 7:30 and let it run to a little after the 15-minute mark. 

That being said, a lot of thought goes into my vote, and I am always happy with my choices. And I will never discuss with people whom I actually vote for. 

So go out there, NJ. Sign your name, part the curtains, push your buttons. 

Lonegan.
Booker.
Meissner.
Stackhouse.
LaVergne.
DePasquale.
Olivera.
Sabas.

Would that the options were always so varied. Here’s to a nation that has lost its voice and just might have a chance to regain it, but only if we want it badly enough.

 

Leave a Reply

