That word…

… I do not think it means what you think it means.

Sufficed to say, not every word that rhymes with “Tigger” by replacing the first letter should be said aloud. The key is to not say the word yourself, but explain in a short enough and stern enough manner that will ensure it never is said again.

As an (former) English teacher, I have a relationship with words that is schizophrenic inconsistent. (I avoid official words of diagnosis– it just ends up offending people.) There are some slang terms that irritate me intensely; others, I embrace wholeheartedly.

Vacay= no.
Cray-cray= yes.
Noms= blech.
Fo’ shizzle= heck yeah.
Feels*= stop.
Fail= go.
Adorbs= only when applied to children…MY children.

I will say “brb” (pronounced burrb) but I will not speak the word that corresponds to this: #. Spelling out “L-O-L” is ridiculous but I crack up when I say it as a word: “LOLL!”

This is not something I would talk about very much; in fact, I may never bring this up again. Trouble is, I know a lot of people who use these words, and I have no reason to be critical of them for doing so. That would make me a hypocrite, and I’ve seen that happen often enough to know that’s not what I want to be. I enjoy being consistently inconsistent, but not making judgement calls based on it.

Here’s to the English language: long may it live and change and grow. For realsies.Image.

EDIT: I totally forgot to write the footnote indicated by the (*) above. I wanted to toss in an anecdote.
I’m not the only person who has expressed disdain for the word feels as it replaces the word feelings. But when I mentioned this to another person, he broke out into a rendition of a classic song: “Feeee-eeeeels….Nothing more than FEEEEE-EEEEELS!” I don’t think typing it does it justice, but hell– I’m laughing.

Leave a Reply

