Zero to Hero, Day 6

(Sorry, folks. Serious teething is occurring in our house. Buttercup’s molars are coming all at once. Not pretty.)

Today’s Assignment: publish a post that includes a new-to-you element.

Oy vey.

I’mma gonna have to hit up the Daily Prompts to find something to talk about that bring me a new element. I’ve done pics and web links. I don’t even write HTML (anymore) and leave my sister to the coding whatnot. WordPress is pretty good at making this place user-friendly, so I’ll get something going here….

Describe your personal style, however you’d like to interpret that — your clothing style, your communication style, your hair style, your eating style, anything.

If you looked at me right now, in a college T-shirt and scrub pants, you’d realize that my talking about style is kind of a joke. I don’t think I ever really hammered down a consistent style. High school and college were spent trying out different things: grunge, preppy, classic, party girl, total slob, professional. In my time teaching, I was too busy trying to be taken seriously to be trendy. Overall, my style of dress would have to be classified as ‘frumpy.’

My hairstyle is probably the one thing I’ve actually been willing to change. I had very long hair as a kid, and never gave much thought to shape or movement. So now, thanks to a qualified and patient hairdresser with whom I actually have a decent relationship (family friend– she’s even on my Facebook), I have tried a couple different things: bangs, highlights, layering. Trust me when I say it’s the trendiest thing I do.

If I were to look up to anyone famous it would have to be Zooey Deschanel. Now to be fair, I don’t watch “New Girl” or follow her career in any substantive way, so I’m not talking about her being a role model of any sort. But if I could be mistaken for anyone on the street, I’d like for it to be her. She seems to have committed to long hair, and I’ve never had a complaint about the fashion she chooses. What I have seen her in was entertaining, and she’s always struck me as an immensely likable person.

tumblr_lv5btoRCXj1qhdxt5o1_500

(Oh… maybe we have more in common than I thought…)

Here’s to being yourself. Unless you can be someone awesome. Always choose to be awesome.

One thought on “Zero to Hero, Day 6

Leave a Reply

