Zero to Hero, Day 16: Off like a prompt dress!

Today’s assignment: publish a post based on your own, personalized take on today’s Daily Prompt.

Well, let’s ‘ave a butcher’s at the Daily Prompt, shall we?

Do you have a reputation? What is it, and where did it come from? Is it accurate? What do you think about it?

Woah.

I’d like to think that I have a good reputation, a positive one. I try to project that out to the blogosphere. I’m a mom, and I’ve already posted about finding Mom negativity a major turn-off. I’m Catholic, and I recognize that some folks are much more willing to seek negativity in religion in order to disparage religiosity. There have been times where I have been told, “All Catholics are [bigoted, angry, snobbish]… except for you.” I want a chance to tell them, “I’m the norm– please look at us again, more closely. See what we are, and not what you want to see.”

My biggest concern moving forward is that I get trapped with the reputation for being less than a great teacher. I was laid off from teaching jobs three different times in four years, though no fault of my own. But I will have to answer to that when it comes time to re-enter the workforce proper. And don’t even get me started on all the professional development I’m missing out on by not being in a classroom right now. There’s a very good chance that my career in education is effectively over, and to a certain extent I feel as though it never started. 

So no– that part of my reputation, if indeed it exists, is not accurate. And that pisses me off. So now I’m trying to parlay my expertise into something more useful.

Here’s to doing the best with what I’ve got, where I am.

One thought on “Zero to Hero, Day 16: Off like a prompt dress!

  1. Yeah, so I got a negative reply to a post I made yesterday… and I could have allowed it to start a “back-and-forth” in the comments. But I decided against it. Not because I don’t welcome dialogue, but because the reply itself indicated a lack of desire for dialogue.

Leave a Reply

