30 Day Writing Challenge, Day 4

4. Ten interesting facts about yourself

Meh… I used to be interesting…

  1. I marched in a Drum and Bugle Corps. Crossmen of Newark DE (I hear they’ve since moved to North Carolina or something…). The summer between HS and college. It was awful: hot, sweaty, tough; the travel, the strange people. But I wouldn’t trade the experience for anything: I did something I was told that I wouldn’t be able to do. I don’t think I’ve been that far out of my comfort zone since.
  2. A friend of mine once said that everyone should see a Barenaked Ladies concert at least once in their lives. I have since seen them 12 times. I do recommend it– they’re not quite as zany as they used to be, but it’s still a very good time.
  3. I am a card-carrying member of the International Wenches Guild. There are over 4000 members, because membership skyrocketed just before the year 2000. My low registration number (#381) got me served underage at a bar at a Renaissance Faire. I had my name and number inscribed on a cup that I handed to the bartender. He took one look at the number, assumed I was older, and the hard cider went in. Don’t remember much after that…
  4. I’m back working at the NY Renaissance Faire. I worked there selling popcorn out of a basket when I was in college, but stopped in 2000. Then my friend, who was working with his girlfriend for a guy selling wooden swords and shields, needed someone to cover for Girlfriend a few days. The money didn’t hurt, so I offered to help. When Friend and Girlfriend (now Fiancee– yay!) started up their own re-enactment group, I was able to work every day of faire. It’s a good time, and I’m looking forward to it again next year.
  5. I’m building my online “brand” … I think.  I’m trying to make my time on Twitter good for other people as well as myself, and believe me: Twitter needs people who will do that! My followers outnumber the folks I follow, and I get replies from several “verified” TV personalities.
  6. I’ve joined the 73% of people who don’t work in the field in which they hold degrees. I still tutor one-on-one, but I’m trying to make my way…elsewhere. Maybe I’ll find my way back, but I like being able to say whatever I want and have my real name on Facebook. (I stopped here Nov. 2, but picked up a month later.)
  7. I played soccer for 6 years. I hated it. Bottom line, I’m not cut out for team sports.
    https://youtu.be/mKLizztikRk?t=16s
  8. That said, I’m now turning into a huge soccer geek. I touched on this when I blogged about my boys watching the Women’s World Cup this summer, but it has really exploded for me in the past few months. Pint Sized Genius and I just attended the Eastern Championship Final between the New York Red Bulls and Columbus Crew SC. It didn’t end the way we would’ve liked, but PSG had a good time, and that was worth it. I’m following a few other supporters and sports writers on Twitter, and learning more about the game all the time. Someday I might even know what I’m talking about!
  9. I’m the Vice President of my kids’ soccer club. It’s not as exciting as it sounds. And sometimes it’s way more exciting than it sounds. I’ve always known that you can’t please all the people all the time, but nothing brings that home like a volunteer gig with youth sports. #SoccerMomProblems.
  10. I’ve never outgrown my habits of procrastination. I kinda thought I would. Keeps me on my toes. I’m just going to have to embrace it.

Here’s to making myself more interesting in the future.

Leave a Reply

