Soccer Mom Sundays #2

I promise this is not going to become a soccer blog…. unless it gets me a job with MLS or recognition by actual sports journalists– in that case, all bets are off.

“Is this the real life, is this just fantasy?”– Freddie Mercury

is-this-real-life-or-is-this-just-fanta-sea

(A Fanta sea would be pretty awesome. It really is the best orange soda out there. And have you ever had it in Europe? They still use real sugar– so good. Not as syrupy as here. I’m totally digressing…)

I did something this season that I never thought I would do… I created an MLS fantasy team. I had a limit of 16 players and $120 million to spend. Considering that I only started paying attention to MLS last season, it was odd because I only chose players that I recognized. If I could’ve had all Red Bulls, I would have (but there was a limit of 4 players from any one team). But for the most part… I had no idea what I was doing. Still don’t.

First week: went better than I thought. One or two of my players scored goals, and I ended up with 42 points– but since the average score for the first day was 50, I was pretty proud of myself. Then I promptly ignored it and my picks were locked in before I knew it. I accidentally left Orlando City phenom Cyle Larin benched. So as of right now I have 24 points (participant average of 51).

Rassa-frassin’ googly-moogly…

Well, there are plenty of games left– I just have to be a little more dilligent. And maybe, if Eric Wynalda gives me a couple tips, I could do better as the season progresses.

Play on, folks!

 

Leave a Reply

